Skip to content

August 24, 2011

Shake, Rattle, and Roll

by Scholastica Travel

photo courtesy of allgigs.co.uk

How many of you have experienced an earthquake? I have to admit that yesterday was my first. It wasn’t bad at all, but I think that’s because I didn’t know it was happening. There I was, just sitting at my desk when all of a sudden, things seemed to start swimming. I was thinking, “am I dizzy and getting ready to pass out?”, but then I heard others mentioning the shaking they were feeling. Honestly, I never thought Western PA would have to deal with that. If I were to make a checklist of the weather conditions we experience, it would look something like this: Torrential downpours, yes. Floods, yes. Fierce snowstorms, yes. Ice storms, yes. Frigid temps, yes. Blazing heat, yes. Drought, yes. Blinding fog, yes. Hurricanes, sort of. Earthquakes? No.

While I’m sure lots of folks had frayed nerves and were thinking a much worse thing was going on, the good news is that no one was hurt. And though some areas were damaged and are currently closed while assessments are made, they should be able to reopen soon. We can be thankful this natural disaster took it easy on us.

Now we have a hurricane barrelling down on us and if you’ve seen the images from space, it looks really scary. People are evacuating from the eastern coastal areas. My prayer is that everyone will weather this storm safely and that any damage done will be minimal.

Read more from Uncategorized

Leave a Reply!

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments